Philippe Coutinho, Marcus Rahsford and Andre Gray win MBNA North West Football Awards

Liverpool midfielder Philippe Coutinho and Manchester United striker Marcus Rashford both walked away with gongs at the North West Football Awards on Monday night.


Coutinho overcame the likes of Kevin De Bruyne, Gareth Barry and David De Gea to scoop the Premier League Player of the Year award. The award is recognition for the Brazilian’s fine form throughout 2016 that has helped Liverpool reach the summit of the Premier League.


Meanwhile, Marcus Rashford’s Roy of Rovers-esque ascension to the top of the English game was rewarded with the Man United player picking up the Rising Star of the Year award.


The Wythenshawe-born striker burst onto the scene in early February, scoring 4 goals in his first 2 appearances, with the striker continuing his mesmerising momentum as Man United went on to win the FA Cup at Wembley.


The 19 year-old also scored on his debut for both England U21 and the England senior squad and secured his place on England’s Euro 2016 squad.


Rashford beat the likes of Alan Browne, Mark Gilespie, Sam Heathcote, Max Power, Joe Williams and Jordan Williams to the award. 


Burnley’s Andre Gray beat the likes of Greg Cunningham of Preston North End and Blackburn Rovers’ Ben Marhsall to earn the Championship Player of the Year.


There was also a special lifetime contribution award for the North West members of England’s 1966 World Cup winning side.


Below is the list of MBNA North West Award winners:


Community Club of the Year – Burnley FC in the Community


Player of the Year – Premier League – Phillipe Coutinho – Liverpool Football Club


Player of the Year – Championship – Andre Gray – Burnley Football Club


Player of the Year – League One – David Perkins – Wigan Athletic Football Club


Player of the Year – League Two – Billy Kee – Accrington Stanley Football Club


Rising Star of the Year – Marcus Rashford – Manchester United Football Club


Women’s Player of the Year – Isobel Christiansen – Manchester City Women’s Football Club


Women’s Rising Star of the Year – Georgia Brougham – Everton Ladies Football Club


Lifetime Contribution Award – The Northwest members of the World Cup Winning 1966 Squad


See the full list of winners on: