Everything Everything release single using AI technology ahead of ‘revolutionary’ new album

  • AI programme fed LinkedIn terms and conditions, ancient poem Beowulf, teachings of Confucius and 400,000 4Chan posts
  • New album Raw Data Feel set to be released on 20 May
  • Everything Everything play Manchester Academy on 8 April

Everything Everything release a new single, Teletype, which will be the opening track on new AI assisted album Raw Data Feel.

Lead singer Jonathon Higgs created an AI programme and fed it the terms and conditions of LinkedIn, the ancient epic poem Beowulf, the teachings of Confucius and 400,000 4Chan forum posts. The band then used its responses as a basis for the record’s lyrics, song titles and artwork creation.

The track opens with distorted melodies and rhythms which gradually come into focus. Like a machine waking up, Teletype is an intriguing step into what the band are calling a “revolutionary” album.

The ‘Teletype’ music video consists of human faces completely generated by AI, singing the song. It also includes several grotesque experiments that didn’t work, where the machine thought it was making a person but failed.

Teletype will be the opening track of new album Raw Data Feel which is set for release on 20th May this year. The titles and order of the rest of the tracklist have also been released and are as follows.

1. Teletype

2. I Want A Love Like This

3. Bad Friday

4. Pizza Boy

5. Jennifer

6. Metroland Is Burning

7. Leviathan

8. Shark Week

9. Cut UP!

10. HEX

11. My Computer

12. Kevin’s Car

13. Born Under A Meteor

14. Software Greatman

Explaining the meaning behind Teletype and its visuals, Everything Everything say: “This song began in a very experimental way, with Alex and Jon sampling voice and guitar then putting it through a process that randomised each chord in a chaotic and glitchy rhythm. 

“A very direct song, straight from the heart, with a fresh new openness that we felt was a good scene-setting for the record.”

Reflecting on the making of the album, drummer Mike Spearman explained: “it’s straight from the heart, rather than the ego”.

Limited edition lyrics book CAPS LOCK ON: Lyrics + Debris 2007-2022 will be released alongside the album and will include behind-the-scenes archive material of notebooks, chord sheets, set lists and previously unseen images. The book chronicles their entire career presenting the lyrics to all of the band’s songs including b-sides, rarities and new album Raw Data Feel.

Everything Everything will begin their tour of UK and Ireland at the end of March and play Manchester Academy on 8th April. Support acts include Manchester based artist Phoebe Green as well as Liz Lawrence, L’objectif and Do Nothing. Everything Everything are also set to play Wide Skies and Butterflies Festival, 110 Above Festival and Float Along this summer.